EdTech Hub Helpdesk

The Helpdesk approach

Now more than ever, education systems around the world face urgent challenges. They must provide learning even while schools are closed due to COVID-19. They must make decisions about schools reopening and take stock of learning lags related to the pandemic, all while working towards recovery and systems improvement.

The EdTech Hub supports the global community to incorporate the latest globally informed, locally relevant knowledge and evidence into decision-making about whether and how to use EdTech in addressing these challenges. The Helpdesk is one way we do this. We help people make well-informed choices about EdTech in responding to coronavirus, and for the longer term.

FCDO Education Advisers and World Bank staff who work closely with ministries of education in low-and-middle-income countries can request and receive short-term, discrete support from the Helpdesk.

The Helpdesk takes a learning-focused approach. We work with requesters to ask whether a given EdTech-enabled approach is evidence-based, contextually appropriate, realistic to implement, and cost-effective. We discourage use of complex, technology-intensive approaches that risk exacerbating inequities or are unlikely to deliver improvements in learning.

If you can’t submit a Helpdesk request, you can still get answers. We’ve summarised the findings from previous Helpdesk requests for you to explore.

We also publish Helpdesk responses, so the global EdTech community can benefit from evidence-informed guidance. Find our Helpdesk responses in the Hub’s evidence library.

Eligibility to submit requests
  • Helpdesk support is short-term and of limited duration, ranging from an hour-long conversation to a 15-page topic brief.
  • You must be an FCDO education adviser or World Bank education staff member to submit Helpdesk requests.
  • The 70 countries listed below are eligible for Helpdesk support.

If you are an FCDO Education Adviser or World Bank staff member seeking Helpdesk support, please complete the request intake form below.

  • Bangladesh
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cabo Verde
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Congo, Democratic Republic of
  • Congo, Republic of
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Gambia, The
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Indonesia
  • Iraq
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Kyrgyz Republic
  • Lao PDR
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mongolia
  • Montserrat
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • Philippines
  • Rwanda
  • St Helena
  • São Tomé and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Uganda
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam
  • West Bank & Gaza
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

After clicking “Submit a request”, you will be asked for a password. If you have not received a password from Ian Attfield (FCDO) or Mike Trucano (World Bank), please contact them. The Helpdesk can only accept requests submitted through this form.

Advice from the Helpdesk

Find evidence-backed EdTech advice, quickly and easily.

Each topic below summarises recommendations from our work with governments, ministries of education and partnerships with other organisations through the World Bank and Foreign Commonwealth and Development Office.

How do we reach marginalised learners using EdTech during Covid-19?
What are some good practices to support teachers to carry out remote learning?
What do we know about the use of low-tech options for education?
How do we roll out a national distance learning platform?
How do we support the use of EdTech for girls and address the digital gender divide?
How can countries use EdTech to mitigate learning loss as schools reopen?
Subscribe to Newsletter

Get a regular round-up of the latest in clear evidence, better decisions, and more learning in EdTech.

EdTech Hub is supported by

The findings, interpretations, and conclusions expressed in the content on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of Bill & Melinda Gates foundation, the UK government or the World Bank, the Executive Directors of the World Bank, or the governments they represent.

EDTECH HUB 2021. Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

to top